Homemade Raspberry Jam

When I think of summer, I think of lazy Saturday mornings lounging on the couch and watching cartoons or a finishing up a movie from Friday night. I also think of fruit. To combine the two, I used this recipe to make old-fashioned raspberry jam. As you are cuddled up on the couch, enjoy this jam on toasted baguette.

I went raspberry picking with my family one afternoon and together we picked more than 5 cups. While using hand-picked raspberries makes the jam feel more homemade, fruit from the store will be just as delicious. When I was making this jam, the consistency looked too liquidy, but once you boil it down enough that big drops of your sugar and fruit mixture slowly fall from the mixing spoon, you can remove it from heat. Cooling the jam in the fridge will make a big difference – it will be more jelly like and thick. Making jam always seemed like a huge ordeal, but this quick recipe took a shorter amount of time than I expected. It also fills the kitchen with a warm fruity cotton candy aroma.

My tips:
• I used 1/2 cup less sugar since fruit is already naturally sweet
• Boil until the sugar and fruit mixture form big drops on your mixing spoon
• Jar and refrigerate after boiling – leave lid covering jar but don’t tighten until jam is cool
• I found jam jars at The Container Store – they have various sizes

4 thoughts on “Homemade Raspberry Jam

  1. Pingback: Watermelon Fruit Bowl « A Dash of Cinema

  2. Pingback: Autumn Activities « A Dash of Cinema

  3. Pingback: Flavor of the Month: Raspberry «

Leave a Reply

