Top 10 Movies of 2012

intouchables behind the scenes

{A behind-the-scenes look at the making of ‘The Intouchables’}

This is the final post of 2012 – I can’t believe how quickly the year flew (as usual). Naturally, to celebrate the coming of 2013, I have rounded up the top 10 movies of 2012 – in no particular order – with 2 words that describe the way I feel about them. I wanted to do Top 12 movies, but when it came time to make this list, I realized I have not seen many of the movies that came out this year. Instead, I watched a lot of movies from the late 1960s to the present. Also, these are only movies that I have actually seen, since it would not make sense to rate a movie I have not watched (yet). I am still playing catch-up on a ton of movies this winter break – crossing off movies on the list every day! What movies did you love in 2012?

1.  The Intouchables (Released in the USA in 2012)
Hilarious and moving.

2. Lincoln
Inspiring and historical.

3. Moonrise Kingdom
Magical and youthful.

4. Argo
Intense and thrilling.

5. Headhunters (Released in USA in 2012 – the book, written by Jo Nesbo, is even better!)
Suspenseful and smart.

6. The Avengers
Exciting and fun.

7. Rust and Bone
Emotional and heavy.

8. Seeking Asian Female
Insightful and a little bit creepy (more than 2 words, but 2 adjectives nonetheless).

9. Looper
Trippy and unexpected.

10. This Means War  (I had to have a romantic comedy on here somewhere!)
Reese Witherspoon. I realize this is a noun, but what can I say, she just makes the movie. Okay…so does Chris Pine.

{pic via}

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Movies of 2012

  1. Pingback: Everybody’s Talkin’ 12 – 28 (Year-End Chatter from Other Bloggers) | The Matinee | Cinematic Passion & Perspective

  2. Oh we both have such shared interests…food and cinema are two loves of mine too and it makes me to so happy to find a blog which celebrates these! I have been wanting to watch Moonrise Kingdom for the last couple of months, but now you have reminded me to to go watch it!

Leave a Reply

